EPA requires reporting on 9 more “forever chemicals”

January 10, 2023

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency announced the makers and users of nine additional PFAS chemicals will have to collect data on those chemicals.

The nine chemicals have been added to the Toxics Releases Inventory list, which requires facilities in certain industrial sectors that manufacture, process or use chemicals on the TRI list to collect information on how they are using them.

Facilities will have to collect data during 2023 and submit a report on the chemicals by July 1, 2024.

The new chemicals include four PFAS chemicals that were no longer claimed as confidential business information by manufacturers and five with final toxicity values.

The nine PFAS chemicals added to the TRI are:

• Alcohols, C8-16, γ-ω-perfluoro, reaction products with 1,6-diisocyanatohexane, glycidol and stearyl alc.
• Acetamide, N-[3-(dimethylamino)propyl]-, 2-[(γ-ω-perfluoro-C4-20-alkyl)thio] derivs.
• Acetic acid, 2-[(γ-ω-perfluoro-C4-20-alkyl)thio] derivs., 2-hydroxypropyl esters
• Acetamide, N-(2-aminoethyl)-, 2-[(γ-ω-perfluoro-C4-20-alkyl)thio] derivs., polymers with N1,N1-dimethyl-1,3-propanediamine, epichlorohydrin and ethylenediamine, oxidized
• Perfluorobutanoate
• Ammonium perfluorobutanoate
• Potassium perfluorobutanoate
• Sodium perfluorobutanoate

EPA requires reporting on 9 more “forever chemicals”